Sunday, August 19, 2012

Friday, August 17, 2012

Freebie Friday

Jolie McIntyre (Life Beyond the Grave)

 Being killed in a horrific car accident. Jolie McIntyre faces death at the young age of seventeen. She realizes only after she is gone that things are not always as they seem.

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Lovely Reads: My Hero is My Monster Excerpt

Lovely Reads: My Hero is My Monster Excerpt: Book Excerpt I stood in the tenth story window, my eyes bloodshot and tears flowing. The monster in my bedroom had tormented me day an...

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Interview and Review with Paulette Mahurin


 “Paulette Mahurin’s first novel is surefooted and unflinching in its portrayal of a singular and unique character and her compelling struggles. Compassionate and confident, Mahurin allows Mildred’s story to burn through onto the page with all its inherent outrage and tenacious, abiding love. Here is a character we can champion—flawed, striving, surviving— and fully embrace in her awkward, beautiful navigation of a world that resists her in every way.”      Deb Norton, Playwrite/screenwriter of The Whole Banana

“If you need to question your values, read this book! The author captures the intolerance and hypocrisy of a 1895 Nevada town, and its transcendence in time through tolerance and understanding.  The angst and pain that two women feel daily, living the ‘lie’ of their lesbian relationship, and the prejudice they must endure, is unconscionable.  I was moved to tears by their struggle in the face of the conflicted values that continue to dominate our ‘modern’ society.”                William K. Fox, PhD, Professor of Zoology

 “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap” is not just about the struggle of two women against a community that condemns same-sex relationships. This important book speaks to the viciousness of all forms of prejudice. It shows how oppression silences and hurts victims. It reveals how close-mindedness and sharp words kill the spirit in others.

Author Paulette Mahurin does a masterful job in bringing the characters and scenes to life. The happenings in a small Nevada town in 1895 are cradled within international news about the controversial actions of Oscar Wilde. The historical context gives Mahurin’s book a richness that many novels lack. I wholeheartedly recommend “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap.” Dr. Charlotte Laws, PhD

 Paulette Mahurin is a Nurse Practitioner specializing in women's
health in Ojai, CA where she lives with her husband Terry and their
two dogs, Max & Bella (both rescued from kill shelters). She began
writing in her early teens and while in college entered two literary
contest and came in second in both in the non-fiction category.
One of her stories was featured in the magazine Concepts. She
continued writing and in the last six years contracted a serious
chronic illness which took her off work and afforded her time to
write, in that time she completed her first novel, The Persecution
of Mildred Dunlap.
Mahurin holds a Master's Degree in Nursing
from UCLA and when she's not writing or working she's helping
women with health issues pro-bono.


**Your name: Paulette Mahurin
**Your book:  The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

Do your characters talk to you?  YES.  If so, what do they say? They tell me what’s important to put in the dialogue and what takes the reader out of the story. They tell me what is coming from their voice and what I’m interjecting. They tell me what to write. They speak their lines to me and I write them. I have quite the relationship with them. A few of them listen to me and change their minds, like Charley, in deciding what to do at a crisis moment In the story.

What was your inspiration for this story? Oscar Wilde’s imprisonment, unjustly, for having sex with another man, shortly after Britian had changed its laws on homosexuality, he landed
at the wrong end of a court case. He was imprisoned in a hard labor prison camp for two years and it broke his spirit, having no pen or paper to write with, running on a tread mill six hours a day, eating watery soup, and sleeping on a hard wooden board. For what, because he fell in love and wanted to be with his lover, the most basic of human experiences. The trauma and indignity he experienced was incomprehensible. I carried his imprisonment throughout the story, the inspiration and motivation, the undercurrent that stirred intolerance and propelled the story line, that was my inspiration, to bring for the injustice that the intolerance caused.
How long did it take  you to write this book?  Six years.

What do you think makes a good romantic hero? Someone we can relate to, within our reach, but who we can also aspire to be, who in we see the best of ourselves in, that part we love about who we fundamentally are, and who we dream about wanting to be, our romantic inner-self.

Which character of this book was the easiest to write? Gus, the local General Store owner. He was the narrative voice incarnate, the soulful philosophical part, that has the authentic “right” answers that resonate as truth, that stir epiphanies, that are fundamentally impartial that we can relate to because they are based in experience not false beliefs.

If you had to sum up advice to a new writer in two sentences, what would you say? A writer writes. Sit down, do it, and tell your internal critic to shut up.

Who is your favorite character of this book, and why? Charley, because he grows. He comes from a devastating loss, vulnerable and raw, and is open to what is to come. What comes is life as his teacher and he, the student, shows us all what it is to learn and conquer barriers to courage. He is our decent voice that is misunderstood until actions come to his rescue, his own actions. He is the gift that God gives up when we can see, with clarity, what is happening in the living moment and not what we want to think is happening. He is the God given gift that experiences what it is to live, in the alive moment, without the dictate of thought.

 Fun Stuff:

What do you prefer - chocolate or vanilla - and why? Chocolate: stimulated endorphins and that feels good!

If you were one of the five people left after the zombie apocalypse, who would you want the other four to be?  An Emergency Medicine doctor, a great comedian, a gifted chef, someone I was physically attracted to, permanently.
Day or Night? Why? Day. I love sunshine and am more awake.

Favorite male celebrity?  Why? Philip Seymour Thomas. He has raw talent that is endlessly watchable.

Favorite Movie? Too many to choose from: Enchanted April, Shawshank Redemption, Shindler’s List, ET, All About Eve…

Last book you read or the book  you are reading now? The Citizens by L. M. Smith. Just did a review on it which is on amazon and goodreads.

Favorite season?  Spring Why? It’s a rebirth, an awakening o what has been dormant, life
returning, and a beautiful time in nature.

Review  5 Stars
Absolutely the best book I've read in a very long time. I would recommend this book to any avid reader out there. Love the detail and the characters come to life from the pages. I felt I was there. Great writing.

Tour Scedule for My Hero is My Monster

August 13th: Starter Day Party
@ I Heart Reading
August 16th: Book Excerpt
@ Serenity’s Lovely Reads
August 17th: Review
@ Night Owl Reads
August 18th: Review
@ I Heart Reading
August 19th: Author Interview
@ Majanka’s Blog
August 20th: Review and Excerpt
@ Nick’s Book Blog

Wednesday, August 8, 2012

Interview and Review with Yvonne Mikell

Roosevelt, an old Victorian nestled on the border of upscale Chestnut Hill and middle-class Mt. Airy, is the obsession of two people, Elizabeth Samms and Gordon Roosevelt. Gordon is a realtor who likes to flip properties. Handy man Donovan Smith helps his employer, Gordon Roosevelt eliminate prospective buyers who do not live up to his standards. Protagonist Emma Samms and her autistic son love the house and are willing to fight for it. Will Gordon relinquish control?


“I love writing. I love to write about the ups and downs of life. Most of my stories are fiction with facts loosely weaved in. These facts can come from my own life or from news headlines. My first novel, Getting Roosevelt--a homeowner's nightmare, is a combination of all three. My novels also tend to portray a protagonist with a lot on her plate. This mirrors my own life, I'm always performing a juggling act. I currently write three columns for What doesn't kill you only makes you stronger.”


**Your name: Yvonne Mikell
**Your book: Getting Roosevelt—a homeowner’s nightmare

Is this book part of a series?  If so, can you give a general description of the series?
When I originally wrote I did not have a series in mind, but from the way I ended it there could be a 2nd book.
Do your characters talk to you?  If so, what do they say?
They do talk to me (not in a schizophrenic way). As I’m writing, their words and their attitudes enter my head. I can empathize with them, walk in their shoes, and see things from their perspective.
What was your inspiration for this story?
Originally this story was about my early struggles with my then undiagnosed autistic son. So we are the back story for Elizabeth and Desmond. Those incidents between Elizabeth and Desmond actually happened. It’s like a blur now but when I was going through all of that…

The story of Roosevelt comes from an actual house I’ve been fascinated with for years. The owner refuses to sell so it sits empty. Nice big Victorian house with plenty of yard space it just lent itself to me and my story.

The theft of Kathryn’s home is sadly a reality in Philadelphia. On my blog, I did a story called Plausibility of Plot, in which I explain that for me a story has to have a bit of realism. I provide 5 links to articles concerning home theft in my region. One lady from Philadelphia told a local reporter how she was supposed to get some home improvement work done. In actuality the company went down to City Hall and obtained her deed. She took them to court and the judge explained to her that it looked like she gave the company her house. She did get her house back. There have been numerous stories concerning our City Hall and how its employees cut themselves side deals. For its part, City Hall will now notify all property owners of any changes made on their deeds.

The story line regarding Kathryn Rupurtus is based loosely on rumors I heard concerning a young woman, a mentally challenged woman who inherited her house upon her father’s death. Neighbors befriended her, took advantage and then got her to sign over her house for $1.

How long did it take you to write this book?
The first draft, one month, but because I am a bit of a perfectionist, I kept fine tuning it, tightening it so to speak. Then the outside elements began to occur, the crime of identity theft and lengths people was taking to make their dreams come true, then came mortgage fraud. I began this story in 2005, waited a while, added, waited a while and added some more until I was satisfied with it.

Which character of this book was the easiest to write?
Elizabeth was the easiest because I remembered how I felt going through the early stages of my son’s illness. I was newly separated, couldn’t get my ex-husband to see how our behavior had hurt out son. I was forced to raise him alone. Financially he provided, but I needed emotional support from him and he refused to give it.

Which was the most difficult?
Desmond was the most difficult. I would love to know what goes on in the mind of an autistic child. I know for my son anger is his expression of frustration, but to outsiders he appears to be bad tempered in which a good spanking wouldn’t hurt. Little do they know that spanking only made him escalate.

Who is your favorite character of this book, and why?
I like Donovan Smith. He is a child of the light who shares his faith with Elizabeth. Blood is thicker than water though and that blood pollutes him because he lets it. He loves his fraternal twin, Jonathan aka Gordon Roosevelt, and hangs around him to keep him out of trouble. Yet his being with him draws him into the darkness. Donovan is also going through a grieving period. That grieving is compounded when he sees Elizabeth a dead ringer for his dead wife.

If you could be one character in this book, or in a past book you have written, who would it be?
Kathryn Rupurtus, I wish she had stood her ground and never left Philadelphia. I wish her instincts had kicked in earlier, like when Jonathan showed up on her door step. Not everybody has the ability to see trouble when it enters your realm.

What is the one thing you wish an interview would ask you?  And what is the answer?
I wish you had asked what was the message of Getting Roosevelt. The message I am relaying is don’t ignore the warning signs because you want something so badly. Elizabeth let Megan racism’s cloud her thinking. The real estate office was a big clue something was wrong, but she was so incensed by Megan that she ignored all of that when she really should have ran for the hills. Those of us who are stubborn like that will ignore the obvious because we don’t want the other person to think they have the upper hand.

 Review  4.5 Stars

The Author does a great job creating her characters. They are very complex and have detail.

The story itself isn't something I would normally read but it is very well written. It has great build and suspense. Leaves you on edge. Great work.

Monday, August 6, 2012

Interview and Review with Carol Cadoo


It just couldn’t be, no way, things like this don’t happen in real life… yet there he stood. Stunning, arrogant, ok ay Jazz Kelly had to admit it sexy as hell. Have you ever had that feeling you’ve experienced something before a smile, a sigh, a touch a look... Oh my god the look, when Jazz Kelly saw "the look" she almost collapsed. That's when Jazz knew, this was Déjà Vu of Love.
Jazz tried to pull herself together in the middle of the hotel lobby, last time she had contact with Mr. Gianni Payne he tried to destroy her life and damm near succeeded.  He didn’t but only because Jazz was stronger than he or anyone else thought.
She had survived… no beyond that she had thrived.  A successful production company, endorsements with major linen and home wares companies.  She had lunch with Mick Jagger dammit.  Jazz was not going to get sucked into that pretend relationship again.  Oh hell no she would not go.  Gianni Payne could go to hell and take his girl Friday Alicia with him.
Jazz was an important successful business woman and she would not be tricked by the passion that was already rising in her.  How could she be so attracted to a person who with the exception of one gift had added nothing but pain.  Oh well at the end of the day Jazz had to admit the price of the ticket was worth the ride.  Now only one question remained was she going to get on the ride or walk. 
Across the Lobby Gianni Payne was reeling from the shock of seeing Jazz Kelly again.  He thought he was over her years ago.  His almost middle aged ego did not need another go round with that vixen.  Even as he thought the word he could not help but smile.  Jazz Kelly was his kind of woman that was for sure. The biggest problem was she had made it very clear to Gianni he was not her kind of man.  Besides Alicia would kill him if he got that nightmare going again.  It had taken him months if not years to bounce back from that hurt.  Nope, he boarded the elevator I can’t go there again.
Alicia, Gianni Payne’s assistant had watched everything from the café just of the lobby o the four star hotel.  Enjoying her tea she had practically spit the delicious concoction when she spotted the stunning auburn haired beauty strolling through the lobby.  At first Alicia was in complete denial, no way, no fucking way.  I thought I took care of that bitch 8 years ago.  Oh this is not good if Gianni sees her it is all over.  Alicia would never be able to keep them apart again; this was not good Alicia needed to think. 
Jazz Kelly watched Gianni Payne board the elevator, oh clearly he had seen Jazz he chose to ignore her.  Fine two could play the ignore game; she was not here to see Gianni Payne anyway.  Jazz was in Zurich to work, she had Chalet to design and a party to go to.  She was Jazz Kelly of Trading Casa’s a hit television show now.  Not a little Client Service Manager.  She was no longer a girl she was a woman. 


Hi Carol glad you could join us for an interview what motivated you to do this interview?
 Hi to you as well glad you invited me, I love having the opportunity to reach out to readers who have enjoyed or are just discovering their passion for reading my passion writing.  I love writing great Chick Lit stories, with strong women and interesting pathos that offer a ton of options for character development.  The characters have a story they want to tell.  I try not to dictate their decisions.  I like characters who are just a bit flawed and everyone’s ideal best friend warts and all. 

What is your personal motto?
You can’t make chicken salad out of chicken shit.  My dad taught me that and truer words were never spoken.  So get rid of it and start a fresh batch but don’t waste an entire day trying to turn it into soup.
How do you feed your muse?
I garden and play the, what if game, which is how all my stories start something will grab my attention in life for instance the book I am starting.  The story concept came from a brief video clip I saw, so then I go hmmm what if… and then it starts.  Once that process starts there is no stopping no rest for the brain it just pounds me until I ferret it all out.  Then I can relax and start the writing process which at that point is like hitting the print button on a computer. 
How do you develop your characters?
I write dialog and monologues for them in a journal sort of like the confession cams on realty television.  I let the characters talk about how they really feel about something either alone or in conversation with one or more of the other characters.
What has been the most significant book you've read in your life?
Well you know I am a fiction writer and reader so I do not read substance nor do I write it.  I write fun, interesting books with great characters and interesting dynamics between the characters.  I think that if you say significant in terms of impact on me it is A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.  That was the first time I feel in love with writing, I enjoyed the story too, but the writing rocked me.  I think I was about 8th grade.
Today we are talking about lots of different things but first things first is Deja Vue of Love available.
No Deja Vue of Love will be available August 1st on Amazon Kindle it is not yet available in hard back or paperback. I am very excited about the book and the characters, I care for them all deeply, after all this is the first book I ever wrote.  So to say I am attached to these guys is an understatement.   By the way if you don’t have a Kindle they have a personal computer program that translates the Kindle books on your home computer. The book will be on sale for 1.99 and there will be several free days to download the book so if they want to be notified go to my Facebook page and like Carol Cadoo’s Bookstore that way you will get notified the minute the book is available and the free dates will be listed.
How do you develop your characters and how do you decide who stays and who goes in a story?
Gosh that was a great question, um well first of all I write fiction so none of my characters are real, but I will say that I use life as a muse.  What I mean by that is I might see a character flaw in someone at the grocery store.  So I would use that flaw maybe not the same sex character as the muse in my head.  I may change the location and reinterpret the characters pathos related to that character flaw.  Of course to me naming the characters is a very personal process and I create the character and then name them.  If that makes any sense to you, hope I am not too wordy.  Wow, I know I am being too wordy but quickly just want to say as far as who goes and who stays that sort of happens organically.  I never push my attitude or opinion on the storyline development I allow it to present itself.
I noticed a lot of people are talking about your hero Gianni Payne in your book currently available Deja Vue of Love, he is really sexy.
Oh yeah he is my ideal sexy.  Gianni is a combination of every man who I have felt that heart pounding, wave in your ears kind of attraction.  He is indeed my dream man.  I hope he is a lot of women’s dream man.  We all have a need for that responsible bad boy in our lives.  The cool thing with Deja Vue of Love is you can enjoy the bad boy and not have to go through two years of break up recovery.
How did you get started writing?
Well actually when I wrote Deja Vue of Love I worked as a waitress at Skippers in Cayucos for Mr. Ted and Ms. Sylvia my dream bosses.  I took a work shop on writing as I always wanted to try my hand at a book.  My writing partner of 25 years Danny Waller and I wrote romantic comedies in screenplay form he did all the narrative and storyline, I did character development and dialogue.   I really wanted to write a book.  So I bought 12 yellow legal pads and a package of Bic pens and started writing Deja Vue of Love I think around 1995 before cell phones, computers, Facebook and the internet.  So I had to go in and update.
Do you have any other books?
I have a second book called Inheritance of Love and then the third book in the Nightstand Love Trio is on the boards but Journey to Love only drafted it is about half written.  I believe Journey of Love will be available right around the Valentine’s Day holiday and Inheritance of Love will be available for Christmas Holiday so keep your eyes posted for it. 

What was your day job?
Well as most artist I have been in a variety of professions.  I have worked as an actress, director, choreographer, wedding planner and waitress.  Not to mention a plethora of other short lived careers.  I spent the last ten years working as a wedding planner which was a huge research project for human nature. 
What advice do you have for people who would like to write a book?
Write it.
Yes but what can they do to get it started?
Start writing
No other pearls of wisdom on that subject?
There is no better advice than start writing.  Every great journey starts with the first step; every great story starts with the first keystroke.  Talking about it, thinking about it, researching it all of that is well and good but you have to write it.  If you don’t get that started nothing else matters.  There’s no book without writing.
Do you feel there is a difference between self-published and corporately published books?
Sure yes I totally think self- publishing is the way to go until you get to Diva Danielle Steel level.  It is an opportunity to get your craft out there.  It does not matter if you have fifty books written if no one reads them what good is the gift of writing.  So I love self- publishing in addition it allows you to stay on the front lines of your marketing and research area. Plus you are communicating and reaching out to your readers without all the red tape.
What is the greatest challenge you have faced in your writing career?
Balancing a personal relationship with the book writing process and a writer’s personality.  The book won.  (Carol is laughing)
Okay here is an easy one what do you watch on Television?
Oh man I love Monk love, l love, love, love it, I am an addict fan of Project Runway,  enjoy Top Chef, Next Food Network, Chopped, Cupcake Wars and the true crime shows.  I spend a lot of time listening  to TCM while I am writing I like to have old film Noir on it relaxes me. 
Do you watch movies?
I watch Film Noir movies some of my favs DOA, Rear Window, Dial M for Murder and Double Indemnity
Do you still live in Cayucos?
No not anymore I lived in Cayucos raising my oldest son Zach it was a wonderful decade of my life.  But it is bone chilling cold up on the Central Coast and after I broke my kneecap.  Great story bad reality, I couldn’t take the damp cold.  Now I live out in the desert and love it.  The sunsets are incredible and the mornings are little gifts from God. 
What is the first thing you remember writing?
In the sixth grade I wrote a book called Wilbur the Waterlogged Wagendorf and my teacher wrote Carol this is really good you might consider a future as a writer.  Her name was Mrs. Alan and she was the first one besides my mother who ever read my stuff.  I was on cloud nine for days, kept the paper in my nightstand drawer for years.
Who do you live with?
Well I have one son who is seventeen still at home his name is Garette and my oldest son Zachary is living in Tulsa on his own.  I also have my two baby dogs a Giant Schnauzer and her name is Hazel and my spoiled little boy who is part golden retriever and part lab his name is Harry and he is precious.  I have a great life my house is always full of what I call rotating visitors.  Musicians and other artist who swing through California for business stay on my acre and assist in repairs, landscaping etc. in lieu of rent.  It’s a great way to live Simi communally.
Do you have any interesting writing eccentricities?
 Well I am not sure how you define eccentricities but I do believe that the character just uses me to channel their story.  In other words when I am done with a writing session, when I reread it is like reading for the first time as I have no memory of the writing.  Let me clarify I don’t go into a fugue state but it is rather out of body kind of experience.
What authors or friends influenced you in helping you become a writer?

My very first love of books came from my best friends growing up.  Nancy Drew, Trixie Belden both girl detective series.  I had every one of those books and use to like to line them up numerically and just look at how many I had.  I still have my favorite six Nancy Drew books on my nightstand, I use them when I am in the middle of a book and can’t sleep.  As I don’t read other books when I am writing I love those books, some of them still have stains on the pages from long ago Oreo cookie and orange section binges. I had as a kid reading.  Still my favorite reading snack, but I would have to say my mom always encouraged me to write. From about the fourth grade she knew I had a gift and really fostered that gift with support of my efforts.  She was also my first proofer and editor.

Besides writing, what other interests do you have?

Well I love to grow Sunflowers, lavender and roses.  I also have two children and two dogs I adore.  I am a homebody who lives in the middle of nowhere so my recreation time is spent decorating my dream home Casa de Flores Too and landscaping my acre of heaven.  I also am a television junky and a Project Runway devotee.

 How can readers connect with you online?

I would love readers to connect with me online.  After all I write so they will read me. I so want to know what they think, here are my vitals

Twitter carolcadoo@carolcadoo or Facebook

The only thing I ask is not to send me any story ideas, I don’t use outside story ideas and I am of the mindset that ideas like air go out in the universe and people breath them in.  That is why sometimes when you have never thought of something in your life and then you do.  Suddenly you start seeing and hearing about the idea all over the place.  So other than story line and character development I am open to any and all correspondence from people who like or have another opinion on my books.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

I learned how important it is to get the right Posse surrounding you.  So many things require expertise that as a writer I am sorry to say I don’t possess.  Oh sure could I do it, if I had to yeah but then I would have complaints from consumers on the quality.  There are many examples of the need for a strong, fearless Posse to bring me out of the creative zone and into the business zone cause in this business you have to own balance or buy it.  If you have to buy it you need it to be compatible with your creative process, yet be able to work independently of that creativity to get the job done.

Have you ever hated what you have done and if so what did you do about it?

You know the hardest thing to admit is when something just really sucks on the reread.  Especially when you work and work and work the passage, line, scene or whatever it is.  I use to work it until my mind was numb, as I didn’t want to give up on it.  But I have since learned you have to let it go.  You can’t force it so now I am ruthless.  As far as what I do about it I cut it, immediately.

Have you ever experienced writers block?

Does not exist, that whole thing is bunk to me, writers block is just a nice way to say you have not done your homework.  You know a book is written when the time is right.  For instance I write the entire book in my head as I am weeding the garden, cooking dinner, cleaning house.  Then when my mind is ready I sit down and write the story my mind has already written.  I just do the physical labor of inputting, at the time of the original draft. It generally takes me about 10 days to write a book, that is the first draft.  As soon as the draft is over I have a group of trusted readers who take that bad boy apart page by page.  They send me a report of all the plot line issues, character issues, dialog issues and timeline stuff like that.  I usually read the notes and continue on with my life or draft another book.  Then after a time a reread the draft make the changes fix the holes my readers have found and then bingo we have a book. 

Do you have any strange writing habits and what do you eat when you write?

Man you guys are throwing out some great questions give me a second, you know I don’t think I have any quirky writing rituals.  I can’t write in a quiet space but that is because I started writing with kids.  So now I just turn on Law and Order reruns and get to writing.  As far as food come to think about it I do prefer cold Kentucky Fried Chicken, Pepsi and Jalapeno Almonds when I am writing.  I like coffee too, but I forget I have the water boiling because I get so into the write.  I use a French Press because I like fresh coffee each time so the water always boils out. 

So, what have you learned over the course of your writing career NOT to do?

Boy you got that right, man I have learned not to use the return or enter key on my manuscripts.  I am laughing as I think of my format guy and the first time he saw my manuscript.  I also learned that you can’t be afraid to break the whole book apart and restructure it.  That was an important moment in my writing.  I have learned to find out my flaws for instance for me the words just, and, but and had are crutch words for me.  Also I tend to over use by a lot my ly adjective words.  That and you really can’t give up if you believe in yourself do it. Who cares if it is a best seller write the book and they will read. 

Carol Cadoo was voted most likely to.........

Get this booked published. I never give up.  Somebody told me once my biggest problem is I don’t know how to quit.  I think they were telling the truth.  You never get anywhere quitting, you might have to change the route but just keep pushing forward. 

Now let’s talk about the love scenes?

Hold on I have one thing to say about that otherwise I let my readers imagination to do the work.  You don’t have to commit murder to write a mystery.

What would you change in your life or career to date?

You know you can’t unscramble an egg so …I don’t think I would change a thing cause if you alter the Universe by just a little everything goes south.  Everything comes in the time and space it is meant to be in.   I have had this incredible Forrest Gumpesque life and wow you start trying to control things and the Universe will kick your ass. Yeah I wouldn’t want to change a thing …nope not a thing.

Would you change the future if you could?

Holy Cow I don’t think so but then again I don’t know kind of spooky to think about.  Would that alter the past wow I don’t know maybe I will write a book? (Laughing)

Well Carol thanks so much for your time it was real fun,

Same to you Patty always good to visit.  Bye everybody check out Deja Vue of Love at Kindall Amazon Books thanks for stopping by Carols Bookstore

Review  4 stars 

 Let me start with just saying that the moment I read the first chapter I knew I would not put this book down till I was finished reading. Jazz the main character reminded me of myself so much, it was surreal.

I loved the story line and the characters were well described. I could relate to them well.

I was battling myself with whether to give a three or four star for this book.

There were quite a bit of grammar and punctuation issues. Formatting was off a bit also. The Author switched POV without warning and it through me off a bit.

But I went with the four star rating because this is definitely something I would recommend to anyone.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Hot and Spicey by Patricia T Macias

 "Jose Enrique De La Cruz the CEO of the De La Cruz, Inc. needs a fiancée in time for the 25th anniversary celebration. La familia is anxious to meet his fiancée, but he doesn’t have one. His hermana Patricia agreed to obtain una novia for him. Paty enticed her amiga to pretend to be his loving fiancée.
Jessica Maria Acosta agreed to be his fiancée for two reasons. One, she has always loved him and prays she can make him love her. Two, this is a great opportunity to achieve her dream of working as an Interior Decorator Design Manager.

 Purchase Link


Jose Enrique sits at the conference table waiting for his novia to
show up. I just want to be here before they do so I can take a good
look at her before they realize I’m here. I have a good feeling about
this. I have been endeavoring to remember Paty’s amigas from
high school. I don’t recall any of them coming over to la casa. Paty
is right. I never paid attention to them. I was too busy studying,
going to school, y assisting on mi free time at la familia’s company.
I have faith in Paty. Paty says mi novia is hermosa, smart, y muy
Paty y Jessy are laughing as they enter the conference room.
Jessy steps into the cuarto first. Oh dios mio, Jose Enrique is
waiting. He looks hotter than ever before. Mi corazon will not stop
pounding. Mi chest, it’s going to explode. I’m going to die. I’m going
to stop breathing.
Take a deep breath, stay calm. I need to be professional,
sophisticated, y sexy. Yeah, right! Geez! Smile and greet him. I
need to put mi portfolio on the desk and be ready for his greetings,
thought Jessy. Take control. Don’t tremble y definitely do not
sweat. Okay, I can do this. Smile.
Jose Enrique observes his novia enter the cuarto first. Dios
mio, Wow! Gracias dios mio. It’s the bella chica that I saw at the
club on Friday. I do owe Paty big, big time. Smiling, Jose Enrique
approaches his novia reaching out to enfold her in a tight hug.
“Hola, novia mia,” Jose Enrique said proceeding to give her
a beso.
What is he doing? He is kissing me! Relax. Return his beso,
thought Jessy.
Jose Enrique almost releases her when he feels her tremble
y stiffens. He is about to step back and release her when he
feels her relax. Dios mio, I have never felt so much attraction in a
simple beso. Her lips are so soft y silky. She tastes like heaven.
She’s trembling. Hmmm maybe I am scaring her. I should stop this
beso. Jose Enrique feels her melting into him as she parts her
lips inviting him to deepen the beso.
Jose Enrique did not stop to think. He takes full advantage
softly entering her mouth to explore every sweet inch. She feels
so good. She feels like she is made especially para me.
Jose Enrique feels her brazos creep up around his neck. She
is responding to his beso. He feels her tongue slipping slowly past
his lips deepening his beso. He then hears her moan.
Jessy lost track of time y forgot all about Paty. I cannot think.
Oh dios mio, I have dreamt of Jose Enrique’s besos forever. He
is so hot y sexy. I always knew he would smell scrumptious. He
smells like spice and sandalwood. He tastes better than I could
ever image. I need to get closer to him. Jessy takes a step closer
rising up on tiptoes. I need more of him, thought Jessy.
Okay, this has to stop, thought Paty. They forgot all about me
y the meeting. Jose Enrique doesn’t even remember her. Great!
This is getting out of hand.
Walking over to the desk, Paty slams down her file on the
desk hoping to get a reaction. I cannot believe this. They didn’t
even react.
“Well, hello! You two need to stop! Okay, we have a meeting!”
yells Paty.
Jose Enrique y Jessy step back but didn’t release each other
from their embrace. They are intensely contemplating each other’s
ojos, reflecting on the amazing passion y physical attraction
that they just experience. It is so unexpected that they were
I cannot believe it. It is the bella chica from the club from
last Friday night. Her ojos are unbelievable, y they really glow.
Right now I can see in her lindo ojos the passion y pleasure that
exploded, threatening to escape our control. Thanks to Paty I was
able to stop.
Jose Enrique is amazing. He really is spicy and hot like I
always imagined. I have never, ever, responded to a simple beso
with so much passion. Si, I have kissed other chicos. Not one of
the chicos that I have kissed has ever caused this type reaction.
Si, of course, I have never kissed in front of an audience. Paty is
mi best amiga, but still, geez. I did not even care. I really forgot
where I was, and who was here. Look at his incredible green ojos.
I can see the burning passion y astonishment in his ojos. Oh, I’m
genuinely in love. Definitely he is todo mio. Jose Enrique only
doesn’t realize it now.
“Uh, okay you two it’s time for the introductions. Especially
since we skipped first base y ran right into second base,” said
Paty,  looking at her best amiga y hermano with amusement.
I always knew it. I knew en mi corazon that they are right for
each other. It was only a matter of time until they met y fell in love.
I really think that Jessy is in love y has always loved Jose Enrique.
I know Jose Enrique will fall in love with Jessy. No problema.
He pulls away from the embrace but he continues to hold
Jessy’s right mano, Jose Enrique introduces himself. “Jose
Enrique De La Cruz,” he said with a huge feliz smile as he
bends over Jessy’s mano placing a warm beso on the back of her
“Hola, Jessica Maria Cortez!” said Jessy with a smile. “You
can call me, mi amor,” said Jessy with a mischievous twinkle in
huge golden ojos.

Releasing Jessy’s mano, Jose Enrique moves around to pull
out a chair for Jessy, the one right next to him on his right side.
Jessy sits down looking at him. He pulls a chair for Paty on his
left side.
“It is a pleasure to finally meet you, mi amor,” said Jose
Enrique with a very wicked smile. “You know mi bella novia you
can call me, mi vida.”

Paty simply observes them rolling her ojos up shaking her
cabeza. Oh dios mio, are they ever going to stop? Maybe I should

“Mi amor, I will like to apologize for not remembering you. Paty
is right I was always busy y I didn’t realize that Paty had such a
bella amiga. Can you please forgive me?” asks Jose Enrique with
a sincere hopeful look.

Jessy looks into he’s ojos. I cannot believe it. Jose Enrique
is finally noticing me. “Mi vida, I know you were always busy. I
was just a wimpy niña with braces, so don’t worry about it,” said
Jessy. “I never lost hope, mi vida,” she grins at him.
“Mi amor estoy muy feliz that you didn’t give up on me,” said
Jose Enrique with a sincere smile looking into her ojos. Damn,
she is serious. How did I ever overlook her?

“Nunca,” said Jessy in a breathless voz looking at Jose
Enrique’s incredible green ojos.

“You know, mi amor, I think that I saw you at the club last
Friday night. You were there with some of tu amigas. I was going
to approach you to ask you to dance, when mis primos show up
interrupting me. Then when I turned to go to invite you to dance,
you were gone. This made me real mad at mis primos,” said Jose
Enrique smiling at Jessy. I never dreamed that la chica of mis
dreams is mi novia, thought Jose Enrique.

“Really you were there Friday night? I had to leave early
because I promise mi mama y hermana that I would go with
them shopping on Saturday morning,” said Jessy, smiling at Jose
Enrique with felicidad.

“Oh, what did you get? I hope that you bought some sexy
outfits to wear when we go out?” asks Jose Enrique in a flirty
teasing voz. 

Author Bio 

  My name is Patricia T. Macias. I was born in San Jose, California. I graduated from the University of Phoenix with a dual Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management/Administration. I currently live in Sacramento, California with my husband and children. My family is my pride and joy. I also enjoy spending quality time with family and friends.
I always dreamed of writing romance novels. I am delighted to be achieving my dream. I wanted to write since I was in elementary. I loved reading about the romance, the heroes, and lovely ladies. 
I do have a day job. I love to write after work and on weekends.  All my characters are my new best friends.  I love writing about my new friends' issues and love life. They're always talking and living in my mind and dreams. 
The De La Cruz Saga is about a close Mexican American family that encounters heartaches, erotic passions, and romance.
Each novel is about one of the cousins love story. The cousins fall in love and in the process overcome obstacles and heartaches before reaching a happy ending. This saga is exciting with lots of action. It's a thriller and erotic romance novels.
My favorite reads are romance and paranormal books. I love reviewing the books I have read with my friends and family.
 I truly enjoy blogging, Pinterest, and Facebook. I love meeting and getting to know all of the authors, bloggers, and readers.
Please visit me at my other blog –,,

My Review:  3 Stars

 This Book tells a wonderful love story. The main character finds his soul mate in the least expected person. It shows how you can find love with someone that's right in front of you and with someone you never expected.
It also tells a rich story on Hispanic culture.

Now comes why I only gave it a three star rating.
- The entire book is written half in English and half in Spanish. While, I speak both, not everyone does. Some may speak one and others the other. In most cases, they won't understand it at all.
- The Author head hops a lot. I was confused at who was talking or thinking what. It was really bazaar.
- Grammar is also a bit of an issue.